2017 Goodwood Glorious Stakes – Bet Online

Our betting market for the G3 Glorious Stakes (1:50pm), a race which kick-starts a fabulous Friday at Goodwood, has just gone live!

View All Current Betting Markets!

This contest was won by Sir Michael Stoute’s Kings Fete and the ‘By Royal Appointment’ trainer has another useful runner this year in Poet’s Word. Others in contention include Frontiersman, Lord Yeats and Second Step.

Race Details

The Glorious Stakes was established in 1979 and it is a right-handed flat race that is over a distance of 1.5 miles. Horses need to be aged 4 years and above and there is a 3 pounds allowance for fillies and mares.

There are also significant weight penalties for this G3 fixture. Horses that have won a G1 race will be penalised 7 pounds, G2 winners get a 5 pounds penalty, while horses that have won a G3 event will be given a 3 pounds levy.

Race History

This used to be known as the Alycidon Stakes. Alycidon was a very successful horse in the post-war years. He was a British chestnut stallion and his major wins included the Princess of Wales’s Stakes (1948), the Jockey Club Stakes (1948), the King George VI Stakes, the Ormonde Stakes (1949), the Ascot Gold Cup (1949), the Goodwood Cup (1949) and the Doncaster Cup (1949).

Originally a conditions race, it was given Listed status in the mid-1980s. It has been called the Glorious Stakes ever since 1989, although it was not given Group status until 2008.

Luca’s Magnificent 7

Luca Cumani is the most successful trainer and he has seven victories to his name. The winning horses were Knockando (1987), Hajade (1990), Midnight Legend (1995), Alkaased (2004), Purple Moon (2007), Drunken Sailor (2011) and  Quest for Peace (2012).

Crafty Carson

Only one jockey has four wins under his belt and that is Willie Carson who rode Water Mill (1980), Capstan (1981, 1982), Seymour Hicks (1983) all to victory.

Sixties Icon

One of the better-known recent winners is the 2008 champion, Sixties Icon. Sired by Galileo and out of a dam called Love Divine (the 2000 Epsom Oaks winner), Sixties Icon performed exactly as he was bred to. His major wins included the Gordon Stakes (2006), the St. Leger Stakes (2006), the Jockey Club Stakes (2007), the Geoffrey Freer Stakes (2008) and the Cumberland Lodge Stakes (2008).


It could be argued that the most fondly-remembered winner of this race is the 1984 champion, Longboat. The Richard Hollingsworth bay stallion was sired by the little-known Welsh Pageant and out of Pirogue. He also won the Sagaro Stakes (1985), the Henry II Stakes (1986), the Ascot Gold Cup (1986), the Goodwood Cup (1986) and the Doncaster Cup (1986). Longboat was named Top-rated older stayer in Europe in 1986, although his stud career was something of a disappointment.

Betting With RaceBets

We offer betting on every single UK race and also provide markets for action taking place in a further 40 countries. No other bookmaker can compete with RaceBets, when it comes to global coverage, so create an account with us today!


Woodbine Raceway horse racing betting

Introduction Read MoreHistory of the racetrack  Read MoreRacetrack Specification Read More Top Horses to follow 2020 Read More...

USA Preview – Keenland Race 9 Tips

$200,000 Raven Run Stakes – Seven Furlongs on the dirt. #1 Never Forget – Ridden by Robby Albarado and trained...

Woodbine Mohawk Park horse racing betting

Introduction Read MoreHistory of the racetrack Read More Racetrack Specification Read More Top Horses 2020Read More Top Drivers...

Fort Erie Horse Racing Betting

Table of Contents: Introduction Read moreHistory of Fort Erie Read moreTop horses to follow 2020 Read more Top jockeys...