2017 Aintree Melling Chase Ante-Post Betting Preview

RaceBets already has a live ante-post betting market, for the 2017 renewal of the Aintree Melling Chase. Which horses dominate the betting?

Join RaceBets And Claim Your Welcome Bonus Now!

Fox Norton

Finished just a head behind Special Tiara in the Champion Chase at Cheltenham, a race expected to have been easily won by Douvan. Had previously finished 9 lengths ahead of Henri de Bromhead’s horse, in the Schleor Chase though despite lacking fluency early in the contest.

Age: 7 (Foaled March 27th, 2010)

Sex: Bay Gelding

Breeding: Lando (GER) – Natt Musik (FR) (Kendor (FR))

Trainer: C L Tizzard

Owner: Ann & Alan Potts

God’s Own

Won this race last year, under a smart hold-up ride from Paddy Brennan. An error, 4 from home, cost him at Cheltenham and it’s been almost a year since God’s Own’s last victory which came at Punchestown in the Irish Champion Chase.

Age: 9 (Foaled May 17th, 2008)

Sex: Bay Gelding

Breeding: Oscar (IRE) – Dantes Term (IRE) (Phardante (FR))

Trainer: T R George

Owner: Crossed Fingers Partnership

Un De Sceaux

Made a huge statement with a powerful exhibition of front-running, when making much of the Ryanair Chase. Unbeaten in his last 3 UK starts (victories also came in the Tingle Creek and Clarence House Chase), Un De Sceaux finally appears to have become the elite chaser that he always looked capable of being.

Age: 9 (Foaled May 5th, 2008)

Sex: Bay Gelding

Breeding: Denham Red (FR) – Hotesse De Sceaux (April Night (FR))

Trainer: W P Mullins

Owner: E O’Connell

Others in contention include Uxizandre, Sub Lieutenant, Josses Hill, Top Gamble and Aso.

Race History

The Melling Chase was established in 1991 and has always been a G1 contest. It is the most-likely next port of call for horses that have competed in the Cheltenham Champion Chase.

Nicky Henderson has won the race 3 times and no other trainer has equalled that feat. Barry Geraghty is top jockey, his 4th and most-recent win coming aboard Sprinter Sacre in 2013.

One of the racest earliest winners is probably also the most fondly-remembered. Remittance Man carried Richard Dunwoody to victory in 1992. The Prince Regent-sired gelding also won the Bristol Novices’ Hurdle, the Hopeful Chase, the Noel Novices’ Chase, the Wayward Lad Novices’ Chase, the Galloway Braes Novices’ Chase, the Arkle Challenge Trophy, the Arlington Premier Chase, the Queen Mother Champion Chase, the Desert Orchid Chase, the Peterborough Chase and the Emblem Chase.

Join RaceBets And Claim Your Welcome Bonus Now!


Woodbine Raceway horse racing betting

Introduction Read MoreHistory of the racetrack  Read MoreRacetrack Specification Read More Top Horses to follow 2020 Read More...

USA Preview – Keenland Race 9 Tips

$200,000 Raven Run Stakes – Seven Furlongs on the dirt. #1 Never Forget – Ridden by Robby Albarado and trained...

Woodbine Mohawk Park horse racing betting

Introduction Read MoreHistory of the racetrack Read More Racetrack Specification Read More Top Horses 2020Read More Top Drivers...

Fort Erie Horse Racing Betting

Table of Contents: Introduction Read moreHistory of Fort Erie Read moreTop horses to follow 2020 Read more Top jockeys...